Close this search box.

Meet the Summer Interns for 2018


   Erik Young is a native of Lexington, Kentucky. He graduated from the University of Kentucky Gatton College of Business and Economics with a Bachelor of Business Administration with a Management major. He is a veteran of the United States Army Military Police Corps, serving in San Antonio, Texas and Vicenza, Italy. Erik has a background in sales, professional
photography and as a Series 7 stockbroker with an interest in option markets. Erik serves as Online Editor for the Kentucky Journal of Equine, Agriculture and Natural Resources Law.

   Hello! My name is Anne Spalding and I am a rising 3L at the University of Kentucky College of Law. I received my Bachelor’s degree in Communications from the University of Kentucky in 2016, graduating Summa Cum Laude. I am originally from Lebanon Kentucky but have spent the past 6 years living in Lexington while attending the University of Kentucky. After law school I hope to practice criminal law in some capacity. If I’m not working or studying, you will probably find me running (I just completed my 4th half marathon), spending time with family and friends, traveling, or cozied up with a good book.

   My name is Sydney Banks and I am from Washington, DC and attend the University of Kentucky. I major in English with a minor in Criminology on pursuit to become a lawyer. Additionally, I am a Board Director for the Student Activities Board, a member of the National Honor Society, and a new member of the Speech and Debate team. During my free time, I enjoy reading books by Zora Neale Hurston, listening to 90s music, and collecting bottle caps.

   My name is Jeff Buckles. I was born and raised in Lexington, Ky. After graduating from Lexington Catholic High School, I enlisted in the Navy. I served as a Corpsman (Medic) in Navy hospitals, and eventually served with a Marine Corps infantry battalion. While I was serving with the USMC battalion, I deployed to the Helmand Province of Afghanistan. After being honorably discharged, I attended U.K. College of Agriculture, and graduated with a B.S. in Natural Resources and Environmental Science. I worked for the Post Office as a mail carrier for a little over a year before attending U.K. College of Law. I will be a 2L this coming school year. Professionally, I am interested in criminal law, litigation, family law, and I am fascinated with procedure. My other interests include: weight lifting, swimming, traveling, hiking, the Green Bay Packers, trivia, and podcasts. My goals for this summer are to learn from seasoned prosecutors, improve my legal writing and research, and to get legal exposer outside of the classroom.

   Hi, my name is Olivia Senter from Madisonville, KY, which is located in the western part of the state. I graduated from the University of Kentucky with a Bachelor of Arts in Integrated Strategic Communication (Public Relations) in 2016. I’m now a third-year law student at the University of Kentucky College of Law with the goal of becoming a criminal prosecutor. I love my dogs, watching sports, going to concerts, visiting new places, and I still like reading for fun. Go Cats!

   Michael Stacy was born in Paducah, Kentucky and went to undergraduate school at the University of Kentucky, majoring in History with a special focus on Classical Antiquity. I am currently attending the University of Kentucky’s School of Law. I’ve always been very interested in prosecution, as my parents are both prosecutors back in Western Kentucky, and want to pursue it as a career after finishing law school.

   Ellen Findley is a native of the Lexington area and a rising third-year law student at Penn State University, where she works as a clinical student at the Center for Immigrants’ Rights and as an Articles Editor for the Journal of Law & International Affairs. She graduated summa cum laude from Lipscomb University in 2016 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English. When she is not studying, she enjoys reading, listening to music, and spending time with her dogs.

   My name is Carlin C. Conway, I am a third-year law student at the University of Kentucky College of Law. I was born and raised in Lexington, Kentucky, where I attended Bryan Station High School. In undergrad, I studied Criminal Justice at Eastern Kentucky University. When I am not studying and preparing for class, I like to spend my free time hanging out with my friends and family. I also enjoying hiking, fishing, and traveling. After graduating law school, I hope to be practicing criminal law in Lexington.

   Jonathan Sedlaczek grew up in Louisville, Kentucky, but realized the error of his ways and left his hometown for Lexington after he graduated from high school. Jonathan graduated from the University of Kentucky in 2013 with bachelor’s degrees in history, political science, and psychology. After graduation, he left Kentucky to attend graduate school at Auburn University where he spent the next four years as a doctoral student in history. Jonathan’s experience in academia made him realize that what he really wanted to do was use his education to help society more directly and with that goal in mind he enrolled in the UK College of Law in 2017. He is now a rising 2L and lives with his veterinarian wife and their three cats and dreams of one day wearing clothes not covered in fur.

   Mason Hill is a Central Kentucky native who comes to the Fayette County Commonwealth Attorney’s office after completing his first year at University of Michigan’s Law School. At the University of Michigan, he is an associate editor of the “” (an online refugee law forum) and has been a student attorney in the Unemployment Insurance Law Clinic. Prior to law school he lived in Washington, D.C. where he graduated from Georgetown University. In his spare time Mason enjoys spending time with his family, walking his 16 year old Shetland Sheepdog, and running.

Quick Links